I Should Have Known Better

The Cactus in Question

Last week during spring break I was taking a hike with with my family in Georgia.  Along the trail I noticed a cactus growing in the wild.  In Indiana we don’t see that too often, so being a little curious, I touched it.  Seeing that cactus had no visible spikes on it, I thought I was safe.  As I pulled my hand away from the cactus, I noticed dozens of fine hair-like spikes on my fingers.    My niece who was with me, giggled, thinking I should have known better.  I should have.

Paul writes in Romans chapter 7, ” I do not understand what I do.  For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate to do.”  I see this all the time.  Even in my own life.  I know how I want to live but I often find myself doing things that distract me from what I want (or need) to do.  I don’t know Paul’s state of mind at this time, but I know when I am struggling with this issue, it is because I have not had my time with God.  When I look back on my life I can see that when I was distracted most it was when I was not pursuing God.  That hurts more than those spikes.

You would have thought I would have learned my lesson with the cactus, but later that day I messed with a fire ant hill. I do what I don’t want to and what I want to do I  don’t.  Ouch!

Leave a Reply

