Crazy Christmas?

It’s the most wonderful time of the Year, or so the song goes.  Christmas is a wonderful time, but I see people absolutely loosing their minds this time of year.  What makes people so crazy?  To put it plain as I can, its when people don’t keep the main thing the main thing.  I listed a few things I do with my family each year to keep us sane through Christmas time.

  • Santa only “brings” things that will fit into the stocking.  One thing that kids can be overly focused on is what they  get from Santa.  If someone brought me several hundred dollars of goodies each year, I would be a little nuts for him too.
  • We are always home on Christmas day.  This maybe hard for some families, but we made this a priority from day one.  It has been hard at times, but I know my kids treasure it.
  • We talk about the man Santa, and the good he did, long ago.  When we are asked about Santa we always talked about the man who was Saint Nicholas who spent his life helping the poor.  The last couple of years we have given cards, or a gift, to people who are working on Christmas eve and personally delivered them as a family.  This has been a great lesson for my children (as well as myself) to give to others.
  • We put more emphasis in Jesus than Santa.  One way we do this is with a birthday cake for Jesus.  It maybe a little corny, but it does take away from the other distractions.  It gives us a time as a family to sing, pray, and celebrate Jesus.

What do you do special for Christmas?  Would love to see your thoughts in the comment section.

One response to this post.

  1. Great thoughts Brian!

    We try to have a different person read the Christmas story every year. I think that it is important for my kids to be as much a part of our family traditions and sharing the reason that we gather.

    We also read before we open any gifts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

